Wiki

Change ownership of a DNS Zone

How to change ownership of a DNS Zone?

Usually, there are a lot of cases when users want to change the ownership of a specific DNS Zone from their account to another. It is easy to be done.

To do it, the customer needs to click on the "Change the owner" button, located between the "Zone shares" and "Delete the zone" buttons in the DNS Zone Control Panel. Then, in the popup window, the customer has to enter the-mail address he or she wants to transfer the zone to. Once the zone is transferred, the customer will no longer be the owner of the zone and he or she will not be able to edit it.

Changing the ownership of a specific DNS Zone has two differences:

1. If the first and the second account are on the same server stack, the first owner of the zone needs only to confirm the ownership change. It can be done by clicking on the orange confirm button after entering the e-mail address of the second account.

2. If the first and the second account are on different server stacks, the first owner will see the servers where the name servers at the registrar and the NS records in the DNS Zone must be pointed to. This message will be shown after entering the e-mail address of the second account and before the confirmation. When the ownership is changed, the second user needs to made the changes as soon as possible.

Please, do not hesitate to contact us, if you have any questions or problems.

 

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Learn more